What Form Do I Use to Start the Worker’ Comp Claims Process in California?

Hurt on the job in Fresno, Fresno County, or elsewhere in the surrounding region in Central California? You have the right to file for workers’ comp benefits. This raises an important question: What form do you need to fill out to file for workers’ comp in CaliforniaThe short answer is that the firm is referred to as DWC 1. Here, our Fresno workers’ compensation attorney explains the key things injured workers should understand about the forms to file to obtain workers’ comp coverage

California Workers’ Comp Claims Form: DWC 1

California workers are entitled to no-fault workerscompensation benefits. In effect, this means that you are qualified for benefits based on the fact that you were hurt while on the job—it does not matter whether or not your employer was “at fault” for the accident. That being said, workers’ comp benefits in California are not automatically paid out. You must submit the proper forms. 

The designated form to file an initial claim for workers’ comp benefits in California is known as the Workers’ Compensation Claim Form (DWC 1). Employees who have suffered a work-related injury or illness are required to complete and submit this form to their employer. Form DWC 1 serves as a formal notification of the injury or illness and officially begins the claim process. 

What is the Time Limit to Submit DWC 1 in California?

Do not wait to take action after a work injury. In California, there are strict deadlines for workers’ comp claims. Notably, you should complete and submit form DWC 1—the official state form that is used to initiate a workerscompensation claim—within 30 days of the incident. The filing of Form DWC 1 is a clear and official written notification to your employer that you suffered an injury or illness on the job. By submitting the form, you meet the notification requirement. 

Note: There is a one year statute of limitations to file for workers’ comp in California

Employer Must Pre-Authorize $10,000 in Medical Care Within One Day of Receiving DWC 1

A worker who was hurt on the job in California has the right to receive reasonable and necessary medical care. As the workers’ comp claims process can take some time, the state requires pre-authorization of workers’ comp medical benefits. Upon receiving a request for Form DWC 1, employers must pre-authorize up to $10,000 in medical care for the injured employee. The authorization should be provided within one business day of receiving formal notice of an injury

Contact Our Fresno Workers’ Comp Lawyer Today

Joseph C. Yrulegui is a Fresno work injury attorney who puts the needs and interests of clients first. If you were hurt on the job and looking for help to file for benefits, we are here as a legal resource that you can count on. Contact us right away for a strictly confidential, no-obligation initial case evaluation. We advocate for the rights of injured workers in Fresno and communities beyond.